Family Parsha Parshat Tetzaveh: Learning From Others

This week’s Torah portion teaches us about the Cohanim, the special Jewish priests. They had the important job of conducting services in the Tabernacle, and guiding the people to become the best they could be. The high priest, the Cohen Gadol, wore an especially beautiful uniform that was made up of …

Family Parsha Parshat Vayeshev: Don’t Accuse So Fast

A person should always think twice before accusing someone of wrongdoing. In this week’s Torah portion, Yehuda, one of Jacob’s sons, accuses his daughter-in-law Tamar of doing something wrong. And in the end it turns out she really didn’t do anything wrong. If we’re not sure – we shouldn’t accuse …

Family Parsha Parshat Vayigash: Patch Things Up

Just because we had a quarrel or fight with someone doesn’t mean we can’t make up. In this week’s Torah portion, Joseph and his brothers reconcile and patch things up after many years.

Family Parsha Parshat Bereishit: Sibling Harmony

Getting along with siblings has been a challenge ever since time began. In this week’s portion, we learn about the first siblings ever – Cain and Abel – and the tragedy that occurred between them.

M’oray Ha’Aish Parshat Tetzaveh: The Selection of Aharon

In numerous places in this week’s Parsha, we are told of the ascension of Aharon to the exalted role of Kohen – even Kohen Gadol (High Priest). Moshe is commanded to perform various actions in order to bring about this change of status and to elevate Aharon to his lofty new station. 1. And take to …

Shabbat Shalom Weekly: Chukat 5774 –

Since 1992, Rabbi Packouz is the author of Shabbat Shalom Weekly, with insights into life, personal growth and Torah. He transitioned from a Reform Judaism background to a fully Torah-observant life at age 22, via Aish HaTorah, where he was one of the founding five students.

Mystical Tour Parshat Devarim: Introspecting for Growth

When the fifth and final book of the Torah was composed, it expressed itself differently than the other four books. Of course, each of the five books has its own “personality,” but while the first four are generally stories, facts and laws, the fifth book is rebuke and review.